• -->

Board of Directors

William E. Dager, PharmD, BCPS

William E. Dager, Pharm.D., BCPS, MCCM, FACCP, FASHP, FCSHP, is a cardiovascular pharmacist specialist in at UC Davis Medical Center and past PGY-2 cardiology program director. Dr. Dager holds two academic positions as Clinical Professor of Pharmacy at the UCSF School of Pharmacy, and Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of California Davis School of Medicine in addition to four fellowship honors and is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist. He one of only a few pharmacists recognized as a Master in Critical Care Medicine. After graduation from UCSF, he completed a residency at UC Davis Medical Center and later a Nephrology Pharmaceutical Care Preceptorship at the University of Pittsburgh. His practice initially focused in various critical care settings including the medical, cardiology, cardiothoracic, and burn intensive care units along with selected pediatric populations. He subsequently became involved in managing patients with complex hemostasis management challenges or receiving new forms of renal replacement therapies as they became available in the critically ill and served as a regional ACLS affiliate faculty. He was part of the implementation and initial staffing of the Clinical Pharmacology, Thrombosis and Hemostasis management (including stewardship) and Pharmacokinetics consult services. His practice currently has a focus in cardiovascular and antithrombosis/hemostasis disease management.

Dr. Dager's research interests focus on anticoagulation, critical care medicine, cardiovascular disease, and pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics. He has authored over 140 articles, book chapters, and scientific reviews, and co-edited as well as authored several chapters in “Anticoagulation Therapy: A Point-of-care Guide” published by ASHP in 2011 and second edition in 2018. In 2020 he facilitated the ASHP Certification course for anticoagulation therapy. He recently served as a panel member for the CHEST 10th edition Peri-Operative Antithrombotic Therapy Guidelines.

Dr. Dager has received multiple teaching and professional awards, including the 2008 American College of Clinical Pharmacy Best Practice Award and Master of Critical Care Medicine from The Society of Critical Care Medicine. In 2019, he was the SCCM Congress Co-Chair. He is currently serving as the Past Chancellor for the American College of Critical Care Medicine Board of Regents. In 2019 he was selected to be on the Anticoagulation Forum Board of Directors.